Fulbright Scholars

The Fulbright Program offers grants to study, teach and conduct research for US citizens to go abroad and non-US citizens to come to the United States. Fulbright is the most widely recognized and prestigious international exchange program in the world. 34 Ormond students, along with other members of our community, have gone on to be awarded the Scholarship:  We congratualte Ashiq Hamid (2004) who was recently awarded this prestigious honour.

Ormond Alumni
Zelman Cowen (1936)
George Gellie (1936)
Edgar French (1937)
Ronald Doig (1939)
James McAllester (1939)
Leon Taft (1945)
Daryl Dawson (1951)
Duncan Ironmonger (1953)
Michael Hill (1955)
John Henley (1958)
Charles Goode (1959)
Derek McDougall (1963)
Rodney Crewther (1964)
Malcolm Smith (1966)
Anthony Moore (1967)
Kevin O'Connor (1972)
Michael Burke (1972)
Bruce McKellar (1973)
Robert Bartnik (1974)
Hilary Charlesworth (1974)
Gregory Ball (1976)
Liam Murphy (1978)
David Goodman (1980)
Alan Mayne (1983)
Nicholas Haslam (1983)
Jeffrey Borland (1984)
Gregory Hunt (1985)
Pamela Stavropoulos (1987)
Kim Rubenstein (1988)
Timothy McEvoy (1989)
Fraser Cameron (1995)
Craig Cameron (1997)
David McCann (1999)
Ashiq Hamid (2004)
Gus Schrader (2006)
Paul Burgess (2009)*

Other Ormond community members
Hugh Collins, Master 1994–2008
Kate Taylor, Thwaites Gutch Research Fellow 2011–13
Calvin Bowman, College Organist 2007–10

Visiting Fulbrights
Fulbright Scholars who chose to reside at Ormond during their Scholarship
Joel Fadem (1964)
William Tierney (2000)

If you would like more information about the Fulbright Program or to apply for a Fulbright Scholarship, please visit that Australian-American Fulbright Commission website at www.fulbright.com.au.

*recipient of American Fulbright award