George Scott Library
With the redevelopment of the MacFarland Building into an Academic Centre, the College took the opportunity to review the location of its special library collections. The central question was how to preserve and showcase these collections and also free up student learning and study space for students in a building that would not readily accommodate both purposes well.
After a careful review, and drawing on the inspiration provided by similar collections at Oxford and Cambridge, the ideal solution was found within the north-west corner of the ground floor of Main Building – the J M Young Room. Adjoining the Kaye Scott Room, it provides a heritage environment for Ormond’s special collections that is easily accessed by researchers, alumni and other interested visitors.
A gift from the estate of Ormondian Dr George Ernest Mueller Scott (1918) provided the funds for this project. Dr Scott’s generous bequest also funds a Visiting Fellow program in the College.
The development of the George Scott Library reflects Ormond’s deep commitment to two of our core values: heritage and learning. As well as being items of cultural and historical significance and providing valuable research material, the collections help tell our story. Ormond has a history we are proud of and the George Scott Library will showcase our history for future generations of students, scholars and alumni to browse, research, celebrate and enjoy.